HOMECAMSForecastPhotosCory LopezSurfriderSurf ContestsStoreAdvertiseContactSocial Media

3/2/13 ESA WFL Surf Contest #1. S. Jetty Venice, FL
Photos Courtesy Jeff Walton/ SUP and Surf BOLO Fla

The WFL ESA Contest #1 at Venice South Jetty went off pretty much perfectly. There were just under 30 competitors, with our youngest contestant being 10 year old Menehune, Olivia Sleight, and our oldest was Juan Rodriguez in the Legends Longboard. We kicked off the whole contest around 8:15 am with the very competitive Open SUP Division Final, which probably scored some of the best waves of the competition. We rolled through 6 total heats, and concluded with the Open Shortboard Final by mid day. This was a highly contested heat as was the Men's Shortboard Final. The overall feedback from participants, parents, and locals was very positive. I'm sure the next contest will be even bigger and better. Gerry Lacasse and myself are the Co-Directors and Brian Fisher is our Competition Director. And, I thought we worked great as a team with all the uber helpful volunteers and competitors. Suncoast Surf Shop donated the prizes for the winners and sent a small contingent of competitors and volunteers which helped the flow of the contest greatly. Nick from Solstice Sports in Tampa represented in the SUP Division strongly, Jordan Lafevre from The Surf Shack represented well in the Open and was victorious in the Men's Shortboard Division, and Bailey Rosen, Michelle Keinlen, and promising little Olivia Sleight represented the women's side of the competition in multiple divisions. There are too many people to thank this time, and I hope there's even more people to thank next time! Tell all your friends that the West Florida District of the Eastern Surfing Association is back and is better than ever! 

1. Olivia Sleight

1. Caleb Dougherty

Junior Men's
1. Michael Kapica
2. Kade Sleight
3. Hunter Napier

1. Jordan Lefevre
2. John Ackerman
3. Clay Crevasse
4. Neil Scully
5. Jacob Swager
6. Josh Napier

1. Prescott Metcalf
2. Owen Weaver

Senior Men's
1. Brian Fisher
2. Gene Moore
3. Keith Dwyer

1. Rob Knight

1. Michelle Keinlen

Junior Womens Longboard
1. Bailey Rosen

Men's Longboard
1. Prescott Metcalf

Masters Longboard
1. Rob Knight

Legends Longboard
1. Juan Rodriguez

Open Longboard
1. Prescott Metcalf

Open SUP
1.Prescott Metcalf
2. Nick Bjork
3. Bailey Rosen
4. Ron Saffron
5. Dean Longo
6. Hunter Napier

Open Shortboard
1. John Ackerman
2. Owen Weaver
3. Gene Moore
4. Jordan Lefevre
5. Prescott Metcalf
6. Brian Fisher
7. Michelle Keinlen

(Left) ESA WFL Co-director Prescott Metcalf checks the heat sheets. (Right) St. Pete's Jordy Laflare
took home first place mens. Photo: Bridgett Chavez

For more on the ESA WFL checkout their Facebook Page






Bulatowicz The Compound Board Shop
Cox Chevy Mazda
Great Florida Insurance
Suncoast Surf Shop
Get Tommys
Watersports West Wavezone







© 2015 Gulfster.com • Your Source For Central Florida Surf. Online Since 2002!